Blue Distinction Centers®

Our centers of excellence in hospital care are called Blue Distinction Centers for Specialty Care®.

Blue Cross and Blue Care Network have awarded the national Blue Distinction Centers for Specialty Care designation to Michigan hospitals that meet strict requirements for delivering quality health care in specific specialties.

Blue Distinction Center programs include:

  • Bariatric surgery
  • Cardiac care
  • Complex and rare cancers
  • Knee and hip replacements
  • Maternity care
  • Spine surgery
  • Transplants

For more information, go to the Blue Distinction Center page on

More information on bariatric surgery for BCN members is available on the e-referral Bariatric Surgery page.